24 Days of Christmas: Introduction

December is upon us. A time of food, family and… stuff. Stuff for you, stuff for the kids, stuff stuff stuff.

But, do we really need all this stuff? I spend a LOT of time getting rid of stuff. Then we just accumulate more. I found myself wondering how to teach my kids about giving rather than receiving, about spending time, instead of money.

This is the first year we are doing a FAMILY ADVENT CALENDAR. As I am not very crafty, I purchased a wooden, reusable calendar. I found cute little gift cards at a dollar store. I cut them to size to put behind each door with something either to do as a family or for someone else.

I must admit, it was tricky to think of so many things to do. It helped to look up some events in our area. The kids are excited to start opening the doors tomorrow! I will be posting what we do each day and how each one goes. Hope you enjoy following along!

Leave a Reply

