24 Days of Christmas: Day 6

There is a Ferris Wheel that is set up behind City Hall during the month of December. A few years ago, my mom took Jordan for a ride. He’s been hooked ever since.

Today was Ferris Wheel day. Now, as much as Jordan loves every ride he’s ever been on… Cam hates them. She is much more cautious than Jordan, she always has been.

It’s a bit like walking on a tightrope; being a parent of a cautious child. I don’t want to discourage her from trying new things but at the same time, I don’t want to force her to do anything she’s uncomfortable with. So, I did what I always do with her.

I told her that she didn’t have to go on the Ferris Wheel. I told her that there would be other things to check out and that either myself or my mom would be with Lincoln anyway (since he’s too young for the ride) so she could stay on the ground with us.

I also told her that if she changed her mind at any time while we were there that I would go on with her and be right next to her the whole time. She responded how I expected, telling me that she was not going to want to go on the ride.

We went right at noon to avoid line ups. Jordan and my mom went on first while Cam, Lincoln and I watched from below. Jordan was having a blast and surprisingly, in the middle of the ride, Cam turned to me and said she actually WOULD like to try it.

I told her that would be great, that Jordan and I could go with her on the next ride. I also explained to her that once we got on, we were on for the whole ride (there was an incident last summer where she went on a ride with my husband and she tried to unbuckle herself and get out while the ride was still going!!).

So, when Jordan got off he hopped back in line with us. We bought our tickets and went on. Cam sat in the middle, I was a bit worried that she’d start screaming or trying to get off during the ride but I didn’t say anything about it. I didn’t want to bring it up if she wasn’t already thinking about it. Instead, I told her that I was glad she wanted to try the ride and I was excited to be on it with her.

She was beaming. She was proud of herself and excited to try her first Ferris Wheel. The wheel started moving, just to load more people, and I realized how long it had been since I’d been on a ride myself and that I was a bit anxious. I know, it’s a Ferris Wheel, I’m a wimp.

I know in my head that it’s safe and that it’s just a kid ride. That being said, I don’t even like it when my computer chair tips back unexpectedly, what was I thinking going on this ride? I made a conscious effort to keep these thoughts to myself. My 3 year old daughter was being brave and trying something new, I didn’t need to pass my anxiety onto her.

Apparently it was just the chunky movements of loading the ride. Once it started going I felt better. The kids both yelled and waived to my mom and Lincoln on the ground every time we passed by. They had so much fun that they both went again with my mom. Not only that, but Cam even asked to go AGAIN after that!

Unfortunately it was starting to rain and we had to get back home. I was so proud of her decision to give it a try and I made sure I told her. Jordan even chimed in when he heard me praising her and told his little sister that he was glad she went on so they could have a fun ride together.

She was very proud of herself and wants to go again with her dad before it gets taken down for the season. We may have to do another Ferris Wheel day next weekend!

If you’re in Victoria, the Ferris Wheel is $2 per person and runs Friday to Sunday until December 20th. Children have to be 2 years old and 36 inches tall to ride with an adult. It runs: Friday 5-9 PM, Saturday 12-9 PM and Sunday 12-7 PM (weather permitting). Go check it out if you have a chance!

 

If you missed the beginning of the series check out the posts below, and don’t forget to follow along right up to Christmas!

Introduction: Why we are doing a family advent calendar

Day 1: Santa’s Anonymous

Day 2: Decorating the Tree

Day 3: Visit Santa at the Mall

Day 4: Family Movie Night

Day 5: Sock Snowmen

Leave a Reply

