24 Days of Christmas: Day 21

Presents to buy, dinners to plan, going here, there and everywhere. Christmas can get busy and stressful if you let it. So for day 21 we did… nothing.

It’s rare that our family finds a day with no school, lessons or errands. It’s even more rare that Will has that same day off. So when I realized there was nothing we HAD to do, I decided to schedule a nothing day. That’s right, we usually have so much going on that I have to schedule time to relax.

The kids stayed in their pj’s all day. We stayed in bed late. We ate when we felt like it. We wached movies all morning. Will and Jordan played video games.

In the afternoon, Will took the kids for a walk to the mall (maybe a last minute present for Mama?). I took the opportunity to have a shower and changed from my pj’s to… that’s right, a new set of pj’s!

I got some cleaning done while they were gone. I usually have a cleaning schedule, I wasn’t planning on doing any on our nothing day, but I had some time so I did a bit anyway.

Somehow, on a day where I had no plans, I felt like I had accomplished more than I had the entire previous week. Maybe it was because I didn’t have a lengthy “to do” list looming over me. Maybe it was because I wasn’t wasting my time going out so I had more time to get things done around the house. Maybe it’s what the family needed and the kids were more relaxed too, whining and arguing less than usual. Who knows, it was nice.

So, we cuddled and giggled, we danced and played. The only time I went outside was to take the garbage out. I really enjoyed our nothing day.

Sometimes, especially around the holidays, it’s nice to simply spend time with the ones you love. We don’t need big presents or fancy dinners or elaborate plans. We just need time, time to appreciate where we are in life. Time to recognize the “season” you are in and really be present, because, before you know it, it’ll be gone.

 

If you missed some of the series check out the links below, and don’t forget to follow along right up to Christmas!

Introduction: Why we are doing a family advent calendar

Day 1: Santa’s Anonymous

Day 2: Decorating the Tree

Day 3: Visit Santa at the Mall

Day 4: Family Movie Night

Day 5: Sock Snowmen

Day 6: The Ferris Wheel

Day 7: Diabetes Disaster and Fun with Paint

Day 8: Treats for the Teachers

Day 9: Colouring with the Family

Day 10: Christmas Cards?

Day 11: School Movie Night

Day 12: Gingerbread House

Day 13: The Train Ride

Day 15: Baking Cookies

Day 16: Trip to the Fire Station

Day 17: Festival of Trees

Day 18: Gingerbread Houses at Laurel Point Inn

Day 19: Horse-drawn Trolley Ride

Day 20: Skating with Santa

 

Leave a Reply

